Locked History Actions

ZILStart

The Linguistic Engineering Group

The Linguistic Engineering (LE) Group is part of the Department of Artificial Intelligence at the Institute of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences (ICS PAS).

People

Anna Andrzejczuk, PhD

anna.andrzejczuk@ipipan.waw.pl

Tomasz Bartosiak, MSc

tomasz.bartosiak@gmail.com

Konrad Gołuchowski, MSc (part time)

kodieg@gmail.com

Elżbieta Hajnicz, PhD, Assoc. Prof.

elzbieta.hajnicz@ipipan.waw.pl

Wojciech Jaworski, PhD (part time)

wjaworski@mimuw.edu.pl

Łukasz Kobyliński, PhD

lkobylinski@ipipan.waw.pl

Katarzyna Krasnowska, MSc (part time)

katarzyna.krasnowska@ipipan.waw.pl

Małgorzata Marciniak, PhD

malgorzata.marciniak@ipipan.waw.pl

Agnieszka Mykowiecka, PhD, Assoc. Prof.

agnieszka.mykowiecka@ipipan.waw.pl

Bartłomiej Nitoń, MSc

bartek.niton@gmail.com

Maciej Ogrodniczuk, PhD, Head of the Group

maciej.ogrodniczuk@ipipan.waw.pl

Agnieszka Patejuk, PhD

aep@ipipan.waw.pl

Jakub Piskorski, PhD (associate)

jakub.piskorski@ipipan.waw.pl

Adam Przepiórkowski, PhD, Assoc. Prof.

adam.przepiorkowski@ipipan.waw.pl

Piotr Rychlik, PhD

rychlik@ipipan.waw.pl

Piotr Sikora, MSc (part time)

piotr.sikora@ipipan.waw.pl

Jan Szejko, MSc (part time)

jan.szejko@ipipan.waw.pl

Aleksander Wawer, PhD

aleksander.wawer@ipipan.waw.pl

Marcin Woliński, PhD

marcin.wolinski@ipipan.waw.pl

Beata Wójtowicz, PhD (part time)

beata.wojtowicz@ipipan.waw.pl

Alina Wróblewska, PhD

alina.wroblewska@ipipan.waw.pl

Aleksander Zabłocki, MSc (part time)

olekz@mimuw.edu.pl

Bartosz Zaborowski, MSc

bartosz.zaborowski@ipipan.waw.pl

Research

The main research areas of the Group

  • (Polish) corpus linguistics; cf. the IPI PAN Corpus of Polish and the National Corpus of Polish,

  • syntactic and semantic parsing of Polish; cf. Spejd and Świgra,

  • extraction of linguistic knowledge from corpora,
  • information extraction,
  • sentiment analysis,
  • morphosyntactic system of Polish,
  • generative linguistic formalisms, esp., HPSG and LFG.

The Group is a member of CLARIN, DARIAH-PL, FLaReNet and META-NET.

Current externally funded projects

Some of our past projects

Publicly available tools and resources

Here are some of the tools and resources created within our projects. See CLIP pages for a more exhaustive list of Polish tools and resources, including more tools and resources developed at ZIL IPI PAN.

Some tools (all open source, under GPL; see also CLIP):

  • Świgra – a DCG parser,

  • Spejd – a shallow parsing and disambiguation system,

  • TaKIPI – a morphosyntactic tagger for Polish,

  • PANTERA – a morphosyntactic tagger for Polish,

  • Poliqarp – a corpus indexing and search engine,

  • Poliqarp2 – a new generation corpus indexing and search engine,

  • Dendrarium – a treebank development system (under development),

  • Anotatornia – a system for multi-level manual annotation of corpora (forthcoming),

  • WSDDE – a system for designing and performing Word Sense Disambiguation experiments,

  • Multiservice – web service for various of our tools,

  • etc.

Main resources (many more at CLIP):

Other activities

Links to some other activities of the Group:

  • Journal of Language Modelling

  • NLP Seminar at IPI PAN

  • conferences organised by the Group:
    • Intelligent Information Systems series of conferences

    • PolTAL 2014 – 9th International Conference on Natural Language Processing, 17–19 September 2014, Warsaw, Poland

    • TLT14 – 14th International Workshop on Treebanks and Linguistic Theories, 11–12 December 2015, Warsaw, Poland

    • CORBON 2016 – Coreference Resolution Beyond OntoNotes workshop at NAACL 2016 (The 15th Annual Conference of the North American Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics: Human Language Technologies), 16 June 2016, San Diego, US

    • HeadLex16 – Joint 2016 Conference on Head-driven Phrase Structure Grammar and Lexical Functional Grammar, 24–29 July 2016, Warsaw, Poland